Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

Newbie Looking for advice/ Info 4BT into 78 F150 4x4

3K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  puebla 
#1 ·
Hello, New to this forum and would like to introduce myself and see if I can get some info for planning a 4BT swap. I've been a heavy equipment/ truck mechanic for 20+ years and have played with all things automotive my entire life so this is not beyond my capabilities since I also have fabrication skills. I own a nice '78 F150 4x4 that currently has the original 351M, 435 4 speed trans and NP 205 transfer. I have been researching transmission swaps and have decided I want to put in a ZF 5 speed and mate it to my NP 205. I was thinking I wanted to find a ZF that was from behind a 460, that way I could install it behind my 351M and continue to drive the truck until I got a 4 BT located and ready to swap in. After doing some research into swapping in a 4 BT I'm not so sure thats the way to go. Looks to me it would require buying an $800 adapter. I guess what my question really is, is this: Since I haven't got the ZF or the 4BT yet, what combo of parts should I start looking for to get this put together as economically as possible? Correct me if I'm wrong but I now think I'm looking for a 4BT out of a Grumman with the Ford 4speed and a ZF out of a 6 cyl or small block Ford. Any insight will be greatly appreciated. Sorry about the long-winded post.

#2 ·
How about an auto?

I've got a 79 Bronco with 351M/c6, my flexplate just went this past week so I figured now's as good a time as any for the 4bt swap. I'm planning on sticking with the c6 because I do enough shifting all damn day, I'm a truck driver. From what I've seen it's an easy swap with the 4bt/c6, so I'll stick with that.