: 4BD1T swap in a Tundra??

4bt4toy
06-15-2007, 08:06 AM
hello. Im really new to the Isuzu diesel swap concept. heres my idea i cant get out of my head. i have a 2001 Toyota Tundra 4x4 access cab with the 4.7 V-8. ive been trying to sell it for months with absolutely no luck. the only reason i dont drive the truck is the gas mileage. as it is right now its looking like im going to have to take a loss of $5-7000 over my purchase price less than 2 years ago. if i could swap in an Isuzu 4BD1T and get 25-30 mpg it would be my perfect truck. so if i take the money im theoretically losing to do the swap am i really losing anything? the newer 1/2 ton chevy that isuzudieselswapper has done is whats inspired me. so to those that actually have experience with this motor, is this even remotely feasible or is it just a crazy dream thats keeping me up at night?

Dougal
06-15-2007, 06:24 PM
hello. Im really new to the Isuzu diesel swap concept. heres my idea i cant get out of my head. i have a 2001 Toyota Tundra 4x4 access cab with the 4.7 V-8. ive been trying to sell it for months with absolutely no luck. the only reason i dont drive the truck is the gas mileage. as it is right now its looking like im going to have to take a loss of $5-7000 over my purchase price less than 2 years ago. if i could swap in an Isuzu 4BD1T and get 25-30 mpg it would be my perfect truck. so if i take the money im theoretically losing to do the swap am i really losing anything? the newer 1/2 ton chevy that isuzudieselswapper has done is whats inspired me. so to those that actually have experience with this motor, is this even remotely feasible or is it just a crazy dream thats keeping me up at night?

Have you got enough height to fit one in?

What gearbox are you using?

Those are your two biggest concerns IMO. If they're fine then there's a bigger list of smaller concerns.

4bt4toy
06-15-2007, 09:14 PM