1967 IH truck swap (pics)
4BTSwaps.com is the premier Cummins Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 1967 IH truck swap (pics)

New Registered User
    Thanks

Default 1967 IH truck swap (pics)

I have an International 1500B dually that i am looking to swap a 4bt or 6bt cummins into. The truck is a 2ton truck with a T-15 4speed and a 2 speed rear end.

I have many questions and I am brand new to diesels. first off what are the pros to using a 4bt rather than a 6bt. I know i want a 12v from 94-98 so that i get the p pump, but do these engines run off of PCM's, and if so how would i integrate that into a 67 truck.

Also would changing the tranny mess with the 2 speed rear end? and where could i find a conversion bellhousing for a cummins/borg warner T-15 mate. besides the mating of engine and tranny, will the clutch flexplate etc work out of the original tranny?

Any comments and suggestions are appreciated

Last edited by BobS; 01-31-2010 at 07:06 PM. Reason: Added pictures by request

2. Remove Advertisements
    4BTSwaps.com
    Advertisements

Thanks

Your best bet would be to find a complete Cummins engine and a 2WD NV4500 transmission from a 94 up Dodge chassis.

Is your gross vehicle weight in the 20,000 pound range?
    BobS

NRA Life-Patron Member www.nra.org
    Armed people are called citizens. Unarmed people are called subjects.

90 Dodge W250 6BT Cummins 5 speed Getrag
    91 Dodge W250 6BTA Cummins NV-4500 conversion

New Registered User
    Thanks

yea its about 16,500 why do you ask? and will that trans work with the 2 speed rear? is it a manual?

Thanks

Yes its a 5 speed manual & should work but you will have to do some engine and transmission crossmember mounting fabrication.
    BobS

NRA Life-Patron Member www.nra.org
    Armed people are called citizens. Unarmed people are called subjects.

90 Dodge W250 6BT Cummins 5 speed Getrag
    91 Dodge W250 6BTA Cummins NV-4500 conversion