Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1967 IH truck swap (pics)

14K views 19 replies 8 participants last post by  rattlecan78 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I have an International 1500B dually that i am looking to swap a 4bt or 6bt cummins into. The truck is a 2ton truck with a T-15 4speed and a 2 speed rear end.

I have many questions and I am brand new to diesels. first off what are the pros to using a 4bt rather than a 6bt. I know i want a 12v from 94-98 so that i get the p pump, but do these engines run off of PCM's, and if so how would i integrate that into a 67 truck.

Also would changing the tranny mess with the 2 speed rear end? and where could i find a conversion bellhousing for a cummins/borg warner T-15 mate. besides the mating of engine and tranny, will the clutch flexplate etc work out of the original tranny?

Any comments and suggestions are appreciated

See less See more
#2 ·
Your best bet would be to find a complete Cummins engine and a 2WD NV4500 transmission from a 94 up Dodge chassis.

Is your gross vehicle weight in the 20,000 pound range?

#4 ·
Yes its a 5 speed manual & should work but you will have to do some engine and transmission crossmember mounting fabrication.

#7 ·
I have an International 1500B dually that i am looking to swap a 4bt or 6bt cummins into. The truck is a 2ton truck with a T-15 4speed and a 2 speed rear end.

I have many questions and I am brand new to diesels. first off what are the pros to using a 4bt rather than a 6bt. I know i want a 12v from 94-98 so that i get the p pump, but do these engines run off of PCM's, and if so how would i integrate that into a 67 truck.

Also would changing the tranny mess with the 2 speed rear end? and where could i find a conversion bellhousing for a cummins/borg warner T-15 mate. besides the mating of engine and tranny, will the clutch flexplate etc work out of the original tranny?

Any comments and suggestions are appreciated