Swapping a 6bt into my suburban -- questions for the experts
4BTSwaps.com is the premier Cummins Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Swapping a 6bt into my suburban -- questions for the experts

New Registered User
    Thanks

Default Swapping a 6bt into my suburban -- questions for the experts

Sorry for the length.

So I have been working on a plan for quite a while to replace my old 7.4 with a 5.9. I have a 1995 Suburban K2500 3/4 ton with 4l80E, np241 and 4.10's, and recently acquired a 93 5.9 6bt from a dodge 3/4 ton. I have plenty of experience to know I don't know everything I need to, even after reading all the stuff I can find on this board.

So my goals: Decent Fuel economy, moderate power, gobs and gobs of torque.

I would like to keep my 4l80E & np241, but am not so committed as to be stupid.
    To do this I get that I need an adapter plate, maybe crank spacer/adapter, flywheel, different torque converter and a transmission controller (thank you forum search). So I have read about the bread truck plate as well as the destroker and the from one diesel conversion. The price of the aftermarket setups is steep, so I am looking at all alternatives before I dive in. My question is what is the angle on the bread truck, I have read everything from 7% to 16%. How and why is it angled? Meaning if the motor was level and the transmission was mounted would it stick the rear of the transmission up X degrees or down? Is it possible to adapt it and remove half or all of the angle? Also, what do you guys think a bread truck adapter is worth, money wise?

If I changed tranny's to one of the dodges (47rh?) can I get the 241 hooked up to it? I already assume my drive line length is going to change, so figured on two new driveshafts.