93 GMC 1/2 ton w/4bd2tc/5spd.....Have questions!
4BTSwaps.com is the premier Cummins Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 93 GMC 1/2 ton w/4bd2tc/5spd.....Have questions!

Supporting Member
    Thanks

Default 93 GMC 1/2 ton w/4bd2tc/5spd.....Have questions!

Howdy! These questions go out to all you Isuzu guru's as I am a novice with playing with these engines. I recently bought a 93 GMC light half ton truck (6000 gvw) 2wd with a bad 6v engine. It is a bean can model with only real options being the auto trans and air. Has 96K miles really straight body interior & paint and a 10 bolt (8.5") rear with 3.42 gears. I want to build a work truck thats gets GREAT fuel milage as I sometimes drive 200+ miles with work. Dont really plan on towing anything with it, I only haul about 4-500lbs of equip. I already have a 94 4bd2tc with the stock 5 speed trans that I want to put into this truck. By looking at the chart below, it seems the engine peaks torque 1900-2200 rpm in stock form.(taken from engine specs in sticky section) For best fuel economy, in what range would I need to keep my rpm to achieve best fuel economy and cruise? Is the 19-2200 the range to shoot for?? I know the stock 5 speed has no overdrive but I can play with rear end gears and tires to make up a final drive pretty equal to overdrive. It also appears that the engine keeps making horsepower up to 2800 but economy must fall on its face in the upper rpm range. Thanks for any and all your help and comments in advance! Chic
    Last edited by chic; 11-06-2012 at 11:57 PM. Reason: spelling

2. Remove Advertisements
    4BTSwaps.com
    Advertisements

Thanks

1900-2000 would be my cruise RPM target.

Do you have the wastegated turbo, or the freefloat?

Sounds like a decent combination if you don't tow a whole lot (it being a 1/2 ton).

Yes, the power curve continues to 2800, and beyond.