Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok this is my first time posting on this site. I’ve been reading a lot of forums to try to get a better understanding of doing a diesel swap. I’m not ready for the swap yet and this is more of looking for more clarity on what direction would be best to take for what I want to use the truck for. It was an ex military/ fire department truck has 9000 original miles never put on the road since put in private hands. I am wanting it to use on my property and go down the highway as well no huge trailer pulling. A mix of good MPG and highway speeds 60 to 65 is where I’m at. It is all stock. I currently own a Bobbed M35a2 so no stranger to the work that will be involved. I will have the truck home between now and March.

Attachments

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What about firewall clearance and intercooler? I would be stuck with using an electric cooling fan as well am I correct due to engine bay size?What MPGs am I looking at? I am wanting to run a Spicer 3053a being that I am extremely familiar with it and do not care for the NV4500 or the GeTrag a Spicer is way better as far as strength and price except the 1000$ flywheel paywall with an SAE#3

·
Vendor
2,646 Posts
I personally would want a 6bt(cheaper too), but a 4bt will do the job. Firewall can be modified if youre handy with sheetmetal. 3053a is a good trans but have a bad 3rd to 4th spread for turbo. A close ratio ESO would be better for diesel. High teens low 20mpgs should be possible. Dodge 1st gen area. What is weight of vehicle? Dont rule out the zf 6 speeds, they are good transmissions but pricey. You should be able to pick up a SAE3 flywheel at a 1/4(1000) if you do some scouting before build.

Cummins FLYWHEEL 4939064 | eBay 1/2 price

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5