Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1986 Jeep Grand Wagoneer with a blown engine. I've been looking for a donor to replace it and came across the 4BT idea.

I have zero technical knowledge. I can't do the work myself. Can't even help. When it comes to getting this done - sourcing the parts, making decisions, etc., is it going to be worth trying?

Don't know where to look for an engine, if I should buy new or used, what kind of transmission to get, how to go about any of it. I just love the idea of it. I mean, hell, I only got 6 MPG with the original engine. Would love the improvement.

Any input would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
1,517 Posts
What is wrong with your gasser? I would fix it or find a running donor so you can drive your vehicle. If you cannot do the work or at least line up the parts beforehand, it probably will cost way more than you wish to afford.

Then, hang out here and learn the ins and outs of switching to diesel.

Ed in CO.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I think one of the pistons threw a rod.

I was looking for a donor but the main problem I'm having is that I live in California and finding something with the smog equipment I need is not easy. The engine I was running wasn't compliant and I was in the middle of trying to fix that problem already.

·
Premium Member
2,589 Posts
I have a 1986 Jeep Grand Wagoneer with a blown engine. I've been looking for a donor to replace it and came across the 4BT idea.
I have zero technical knowledge. I can't do the work myself. Can't even help. When it comes to getting this done - sourcing the parts, making decisions, etc., is it going to be worth trying?
Don't know where to look for an engine, if I should buy new or used, what kind of transmission to get, how to go about any of it. I just love the idea of it. I mean, hell, I only got 6 MPG with the original engine. Would love the improvement.