Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I finally did it. After lurking here for about 4 years, I have finally started a project. A little backstory: I am not a mechanic, but I love the aspect of working on and building vehicles, because there is so much room for creativity. I started working on my first project vehicle, a 1969 Bronco, which was a frame up restore with a 20 footer paint and body job!

After putting about 500 miles on it and only getting 14 mpg's, I decided I should find better alternatives to build a nice on-road fuel sipping beach cruiser. I found this site after googling fuel efficient motors, and I purchased one locally from a diesel boat mechanic for $2800! This was complete with the Muncie transmission and the GM adapter plate and flywheel. It had almost no blow-by and cranked up perfectly and had an intact serial number plate. (Thanks for the checklist of stuff to look for 4bt swaps)

Well, I sold the whole transmission setup for $800, and went and bought a 4wd 4l80e from a 6.5l K2500 for $400 bucks! I then purchased what was to by my original project, and m1009 k5 Blazer with a 6.2l diesel in it. However, I ended up liking the 6.2l too much after fixing the K5 up a bit. Here is a picture of it after body work and bedliner were applied to it: