Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Since basically no one around here knows me, might as well do an introduction first. Name is Matt Whitbread, I live in northern metro detroit, and am a certified diesel nut/torque addict. Anyone in the VW TDI world might recognize my name as I run a TDI performance/maintenance shop in my side time. My day job is the head chassis fabricator at a race car shop where I've even turned the boss to the dark side; two diesel race cars are in the shop stable now. Like most everyone here, I can't leave anything well enough alone. I have an Arctic Cat 700 diesel quad that I turbo'ed, Microsquirt Efi'ed yamaha banshee, 4 TDI's with my favorite being a compound turbo AWD wagon that's making ~290whp/460lb/ft currently at 50psi boost. Once upon a time it was a V6 autotragic FWD lame wagon.

That brings me here. My very first vehicle I bought myself in high school (after mowing god know how many lawns) was a rather clean 87 K10 silverado shortbed. As the 305 was tired when I bought it, I built a ~380hp 383 motor out of left over parts from an uncles drag racing days. When gas was $1.80/gallon it was all good and scared small children. But ever since gas crested $3/gal, 6mpg of premium just hurts too bad. Sadly, it's only had 50 miles put on it in 6 years. Over the years I've been accumulating parts for a full rebuild of an undetermined exact direction. I have a kingpin 60 and a 14 bolt rear with 4.10 gears, 8 lug 15" rims to keep my current 35's, 2wd sm465 I got for free from a friend who owed me a favor, and all the body parts needed to restore it to original glory. Plan has always been diesel, stumbled onto a 4BD1T for silly cheap and was going to drop it in. But, earlier this week, the exact project direction fell into my lap.