Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at picking up a 2008 Ford F350 dead diesel 4x4 to swap a slope nosed '41 Powerwagon onto. Got a 4BT and thinking of going M2R5 trans. The Ford's got Dana Super 60 front axle and Sterling 10.5" rear. I will have to shorten the frame (wb about 156") to 1/2 ton '41 wb 114" but I'll probably make it a 8' flat bed so more like 138"wb. Might have NP271F transfer case.
Any one done a swap with 1999-2008 Ford chassis? I'm looking for input as I'm new to building 4x4s (at least working on them, I've got a 2005 dodge Ram 2500 4x4 but 230K miles it's still going without major problems-knocking on wood!)
Mel in Oregon

·
Registered
1,480 Posts
You will have better luck finding information if you use "M5R2"

I have over 70,000 miles on a junk yard M5R2 (see signature below). The synchronizers in 1st and 2nd are shot - but (with a little force) still shifts. Probably your most "affordable" choice, but not suited to heavy duty hauling or towing. Be prepared for frequent replacement of leaky clutch cylinders (they are inside the bellhousing, the input shaft goes thru it - and the *&^%$#@! transmission has to be removed...). The original Ford OEM part, and most of the replacement parts are molded plastic. I recent found aluminum master and slave clutch cylinders - I don't have enough miles on them to have a valid opinion...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Russ, it's going to be my farm truck-picking up feed, hay & supplies, yeah it's rather over the top for my needs but it's a great excuse. I just have always liked these trucks and the '41 just about fell in my lap. So from what I've read the M5R2 would suffice. Do you have a source for the aluminum master & slave clutch cylinders as I've heard like you're saying it's a pain to replace. Do post up your results with these parts-many will be appreciative of your discovery.

·
Registered
1,480 Posts