Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I've been running a 1990 4BD1T in my FJ40 Land Cruiser for about six years and I love it. My only problem is that I have been plagued with starter issues--the kind where you get the dreaded "click" in the solenoid but the starter motor doesn't engage.

The starter works nineteen times out of twenty, but always fails at the worst possible moment. 😩

Sometimes another couple tries and it will engage; at other times I just need to hit the starter solenoid housing with a hammer and it will start. This has been a very persistent problem. I have cleaned or replaced the starter internals three times, and I've fully replaced the starter, battery, and all cables once.

I'm using the big starter with the three-bolt flange, and a single 12v battery with 850 cca. Is the two-bolt flange starter an option? Should I move to a dual-battery 12v system?

Best, JD
Wheel Tire Sky Car Water

·
Registered
57 Posts
Are you using a relay in addition to the switch on the starter? I had the same problem you describe and the cure was to re-install the factory ford starter solenoid which I had “engineered” out when I did the swap. Larger, shorter wires= less voltage drop. That switch on the starter is an electromagnet and if there is enough voltage drop, it will not pull hard enough to pull the switch in.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Are you using a relay in addition to the switch on the starter? I had the same problem you describe and the cure was to re-install the factory ford starter solenoid which I had “engineered” out when I did the swap. Larger, shorter wires= less voltage drop. That switch on the starter is an electromagnet and if there is enough voltage drop, it will not pull hard enough to pull the switch in.
Thanks, Levis!