Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering to buy a 1947 Ford COE, an old hauler from a simpler time. I'm just starting up a new winery and need a truck to haul grapes from the vineyard to my facility, so I thought I might as well get a classy and iconic old rig to bring my brand some attention. The downside of any old or big rig is fuel economy and the impact on the environment. I'd like to swap in a diesel and install a Frybrid WVO system to boot.

The truck is all stock: flathead v8, four speed tranny with a two speed rear end. I'm new to diesels and new to swaps and don't plan on doing much work myself, but excited to learn how along the way. Before I buy anything I want to find out if the 4bt will fit under the cab and what kind of secondary mods I might have to do to the drivetrain. Has anyone ever converted over a COE?

My goal in the end is to end up with a showstopper big rig that costs pennies to run and easy to work on for around the same total project cost as a newer model f350 or 3500 might cost.

Am I crazy for wanting this? Is this going to turn into a money pit? Will the end result be reliable?

Thanks!

·
Registered
121 Posts