Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I've been searching and searching and havent found anyone who has put a 4BT in a toyota Mini truck yet. Ive got a 89 4x4 with a worn out 3.slow and have been looking into a "better engine swap". Being a diesel mechanic by trade the thought of a 4BT cummins is very interesting to me. I know the engine can have a chevy bellhousing bolted to it so I can get either a chevy trans (nv4500) or go with advance adapters toy trans to chevy engine bellhousing. I think physically the engine will fit, but if I could get any advice from someone who has swapped this engine in something would be great. Like what about engine mounts. Ive read somewhere they use Chevy motor mounts??? If this is correct then I could use advance adapters mounts again. What about radiator size? There are radiators out there that fit in Toys that cool a small block chevy or ford would that be good enough? How about a fan, if the engine is to long would a electric pusher fan be enough to cool this beast down? Any advice and facts about the 4BT would be really appricated.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I know this isn't very helpful but I think I remember seeing a mini truck with a 6bt or 24 valve cummins a few years back on the internet. I'm pretty sure I'd saved it, but I think its on another computer that no longer works.

·
Registered
4,089 Posts
Just to let you know I will be starting on a 81 Toyota 4x4 in late Aug!

spec:
4bt Cpl858
sm465 trans,toy t-case
4:10 gears on 37'' iroc tires.

it's a tight fit and will need a small body lift to clear,plus a spring lift as well.A stock or mod rad that will cool a small block will enough to cool the 4bt and a eletric fan will be needed.

I will post up more info later.

Thanks
CrewCab59

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·