Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
454 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. Have a '46 Chevy 1-1/2 ton chassis I am going to mod with the beloved 4BTA but would like to back it up with a newer 6-speed automatic. The GM 6L90 is well within the torque specs and is a "double overdrive" (I am going for long-haul MPG). Has anyone gone this route or looked into this tranny? Other reasons it has me considering is fairly light weight (compared to an Allison) the built in controller and availability of aftermarket kits that should make for a (reasonably) smooth transplant (yeah, right). Also thought about the brand new (2010) Furd six-speed TorqShift, but the adapter & controller seem to be significant issues. Thanks in advance for any wisdom.

·
Registered
1,402 Posts
Physically bolting the 6L90 to the 4bt is simple - you can use a bread van adapter or, better yet, the Destroked adapter.

The electronics are a whole 'nother can of worms. Yes, it has an internal TCM. Problem is, it gets ALL of it's operating information via a high speed GMLAN interface. You aren't gonna just hook up a TPS and be on your merry way with this one.

·
Registered
454 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
No telling when, but I have contacted two aftermarket suppliers who are "working on" the programming & harness kits for the GM and the Ford 6-speeds. Sounded like they could be out around the end of the year. Given fuel prices, there is huge interest in both of these trannies as transplants. One was Destroked but I don't have my notes handy on the other.

·
Registered
1,402 Posts
No pricing eh? To me, that means it's gonna be lots of $$$.

·
Registered
5,528 Posts
anyway, the 6L90 seems to be a better choice than the torqshift... now it seems to be more matter of time to see somebody coming with one of those aftermarket standalone auxiliary modules to fool the tcm...

·
Isuzu reliability tester
3,001 Posts