Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to the swap world and have a wild hair about putting a 4BT in my FJ40.
We tore the front end up in the FJ and it got me thinking about pulling the 305 in it and putting in a 4BT. I have a 01 2500 with a nv5600 sitting around and was thinking of pulling the axels trans and transfer case, bolting the 4BT up to it and go on.
Am I crazy? Is that going to be too much for my FJ to handle? I know we would have to beef up the suspension some bout other than that would the 4BT bolt up to 5600? I called some places about adapter plates and couldn’t find much out. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
11,883 Posts
The 4bt would be a direct bolt up to the NV5600. Of course you need the block adapter, flywheel and clutch assembly, and starter off the 6bt that came with the transmission. Now as far as putting it into an FJ40 you'd have to judge that. That drive train is probably much longer and the stock Dodge axles are probably a bit wider. Wouldn't be a simple bolt on swap but few are. Would the Dodge transfer case physically fit between the frame on the FJ40?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Taking the truck to the shop to start disassembling it. I think the t case should fit and clearly I’ll need to get new drive shafts but knowing the motor will bolt to the trans is a great start. Thanks.

·
Registered
11,883 Posts
Yes, drive shafts will be a custom part. What level of performance for the 4bt do you plan? Anything above bone stock 105 HP needs an intercooler. 200 HP is a fairly popular power point and pretty easy to achieve. On a VE pump engine the main change is the turbo. On a P pump engine it would be mostly injection pump adjustment. Your stock radiator may do fine. 4bt's run cold.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5