Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I will be doing a 92 GMC swap soon, from the 350 gas to my beloved cummins, and was wandering about my t/c. I will be getting the ATC from destroked, which allows you to change shift points and lock up the converter. So will I have to get a t/c for a diesel or will this one work for my application? Also I was wondering if 330 H/P is too much for the tranny, it was just rebuilt last year? Thanks in advance. Paul.

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
You'll need a diesel T/C. I'd recommend having a custom one built for that kind of power and getting rid of the wave ring. The Chevy converters are not meant for much abuse. If it's put together right it should last awhile. If it's built with relined crap you'll find out soon enough.

·
Registered
915 Posts
Not much detail here, but....

The older trannys are not as good as the newer. I am not a tranny expert, but I know there were updates made in the later cases for durability. I am using a 6.5T converter in front of my 6BT with no problems in 10K miles and almost a year. I run it pretty hard and it has not missed a beat. It does have all the transgo goodies so it is better than a stocker. I am also runnig the wave ring with no issues. I think the problem with the wave ring is due to poor installation on 3 tab converters....but just a hunch.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Found