Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post. I am very new to diesel motor let alone cummiuns. Ever since i heard about the 4 cylinder cummins motor i wanted to put one in my bronco. My bronco has a custom state of the art frame a dana 60 in the rear and a HD dana 44 in the front. I really want to put a 4bt in my bronco but ihave no clue where to start. What should i look for in a used 4bt. What do i need for this swap. I am new to diesel so any help would be greatly help full. I have a 1987 ford aod trans but not sure it is strong enough for the 4bt. Also what is the difference between a 4bt and a 4bta? Thanks

·
Registered
4,089 Posts
Welcome

There is a lot info here ,some on EB.

First off take some time to due research ,we are here to help.

The 4 = # cylinders
The b = series
The t = turbo
The a = aftercooler = air , water

When looking for a engine look for a on road ,not gen type engine.

All the info you'll need is here .

CrewCab59

·
Registered
89 Posts
Where in VA?

I have a 4BTA in 68 EB. I move it within two weeks to Lunenburg County, VA, near Blackstone / Kenbridge/ Victoria / South Hill area. You are welcome to come look at it and drive it.:hillbilly:

Wayne

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I greatly appreciate that. I will defenitly take you up on the that offer. Did you have to do anything different to brake system when you installed the 4bta? i live in Manassas Va.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks. I will go out and get it.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Brakes

OEM vacuum power brake setup off later model EB.
Used Dodge Cummins rotary vacuum pump and PS reservoir off 94-97 RAM.
D44 with drum on 4 corners.:idea:

Incidently, tried the ballast type vacuum pump, and not enough space with the EB to mount.

OK, taking a cooling-break loading stuff...

back to work.

Wayne

·
Registered
335 Posts