Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
1972 F250 4x4, 78 d44, np205
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I’ve been collecting parts to transplant a 4bt and wanted to start a build thread for the benefit of others and myself since I have no background with diesel and I’ve received some good advice from others so far.

I found a package deal of a non running 4bt on a 95 dodge nv4500 drivetrain.

I’m going the long route and going through everything for reliability as I like the piece of mind knowing what I have got. Expensive education.

It was a dodge 2wd nv4500hd so to keep driveline angles better and maintain the divorced setup to the 205 I swapped the short 2wd Chevy mainshaft/housing/5th gear and went through replacing synchros and bearings using the Allstate gear kit with Koyo bearings which sound to be on par with the timken taken out. It got a new 2nd gear and dampener yoke and speedo/output bearing sleeve from torque king. I like that 5th gear issues are not an issue with this design as the yoke holds the spacer and 5th gear on. I used the 95 dodge shop manual for rebuild instructions and specs. It seemed a bit more detailed than the torque king manual which did have some good diagrams and tips.

I will get some pictures up!

·
Premium Member
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks Mauser48, I found a lot of good info from the members on FTE and fordification as well as the ford truck shop manual.

There was a month wait to bring the block and rotating assembly to the machine shop. Two weeks ago I dropped the block off and the Cummins b series shop manual with sticky notes in for specs. Wishful thinking, I suppose, that the manual will be consulted but he’s done a few 390’s for my uncle which run well and he’s in a no-nonsense agricultural area, so I suppose that’s my piece of mind that it’ll be done right.