Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 20 of 112 Posts

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
77 Dodge Ramcharger 4bt build. MPG numbers.

Hi Guys,
I suppose I should introduce myself. A couple three of you may know of me. I come from the FSJ crowd and go by J10Mike. I joined this site some time ago and have been lurking and gathering information. I already see that there are a good group of people here. So, if I ask any dumb questions, take into account that I'm a noob...At least as 4bt conversions are concerned.
I have since sold my 82 two seater built J10 Sportside and picked up a relatively rust free 77 Dodge Ramcharger with more room for my family and room for extra gear.
Anyway, I have always liked the 74 thru 80 poptop Ramchargers and Plymouth Trail Dusters. Pull the top for that convertible ride.
My original intention was to drop a 440 into it and enjoy the power and that 6MPG while enjoying that power.
Already being the owner a of a 01 Dodge CTD, I decided to explore other options with the Cummins 4bt as a great near bolt in conversion.
Here is what I started with...Stock, 360/727/203, on 33s. It was a perfect day for a ride while topless.

I have since swapped in a rebuilt Dodge front D60 with Detroit TrueTrac and a rear Dodge D60HD with Detroit Locker. Both from the same 78 Dodge W300 one ton and have 4.10 gears and were completely rebuilt by yours truly. Also swapped in at the same time was 4 inch all spring lift and 35s on black wagon wheels.

I came across a 91 Dodge CTD doner truck a few weeks back and picked that up. It has a non-running 6bt and the 727/205 combo that I was looking for (with 4.10s? Is he nuts?). Anyway, the bed and rear D70 had already been removed, so it came very cheap.
My wife asked me...Did you know you were buying half a truck? It's not how it looks. It's about all the componants, linkages, etc that are compatible with my RC. And, there are many.