Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy! Newly registered but have been following this forum for a couple years. It has saved my behind a time or two and its great to have such an awesome community to look to!

I am sitting on a 1987 GMC P30 bread truck. Its in need of a conversion from the 3-speed manual to a durable automatic trans.
Admittedly, I am a novice when it comes to anything past the firewall. I have spent hours on the google and 4BTSwaps threads and it seems like there are alot of opinions out there.
Whats the bottom line? I need the most affordable option, easiest swap, and reliable. OD would be nice, but not mandatory. This is for hauling, not performance. It will do some highway miles, but mostly around the city (Food Truck).

Should we go with a TH400, a727, 46rh, 700r4.....? Shoot it to me straight!

You guys are the best.

·
Registered
1,508 Posts
I suspect that transmission is a 4 speed manual - 3 speed is unheard of in a 1 ton truck. Does that 1987 GMC P30 have a Cummins 4bt in it now? If indeed that is a GM 4 speed on a 4bt, you have a a very rare (and desirable) combination. Rare enough that most of us have never seen one. If so, you should be able to trade the setup (adapter plate, flywheel, clutch, transmission, etc) for a decent automatic setup).

Conversion to an automatic involves an adapter plate, flex plate, wave ring, torque converter matched to the 4bt torque curve and a automatic set up to handle the high torque from a 4bt at lower ROMs. I'm a Ford / manual guy, so I don't have the specifics at hand.

Feed us some details, the day crew has more experience.

Is your engine slightly tilted (most of the 4bt / TH400 were tilted for clearance in the engine compartment)?

Russ

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Russ -