Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i just purchased a rust free 82 chevy crew cab shortbox 1 ton and yanked out the gas guzzling 468 big block and starting my plans to drop in a motor i bought a while back from a 2001 Case IH self propelled sprayer that was hit by a train... Motor is fine but i don't know anything about it, and i'm pretty new to diesel's especially the cummins. I want to know what's different about this motor compared to a pickup's 5.9 cummins, and what pump i'm working with... Some of the info i got from the side of the timing cover is: Serial # 46070637 185hp Family:1CEXL0359ABA The numbers from the side of the pump read: PE56P120A120R53358 0 402 066 707 08522 10075 And the numbers from the rear of the pump read: 908 BOSCH RSV475... 1100P2A618 393 5783 0206.

I've had a few guys tell me i can't use this governor for everyday driving but that the cummins pulling guys are after these governors for their trucks because they work great for pullin. And other guys tell me not to trade it for a regular governor because it will work fine for everyday driving and great when i pull on the weekends.. I'm not sure what to do, i don't even know for sure if this even is a regular P7100 pump like the pickups have.. if it is a p7100..

If anyone can elaborate I'd much appreciate it!
And by the way i'm new on here so hello to everyone!

·
Vendor
2,655 Posts
The difference between your engine and a pickup 5.9 is the CPL. CPL will tell differences between your motor and what you want it to be.

·
Vendor
2,655 Posts
P pumped but probably not epa hiway pump. Bosch could fix i think.

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter #6