Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is anyone running a fan straight off the 4bt does it need it i dont think so but people are telling me differant.

·
Registered
3,391 Posts
I run an electric fan and no, it doesn't need it, SO FAR! But living in the Bay Area it's hard to tell what you'll run into. If you get into a rushour gridlock on a hill, on a hot day you could need a fan.

Mine comes on automatically from a temp sender at lower water inlet from block. In addition I have a lighted master over ride switch in case I want to engage manually. Mine never needs the fan, so far, but I switched it on twice.

·
Registered
713 Posts
I run an electric fan and no, it doesn't need it, SO FAR! But living in the Bay Area it's hard to tell what you'll run into. If you get into a rushour gridlock on a hill, on a hot day you could need a fan.

Mine comes on automatically from a temp sender at lower water inlet from block. In addition I have a lighted master over ride switch in case I want to engage manually. Mine never needs the fan, so far, but I switched it on twice.
ditto

·
Registered
808 Posts
Same here, electric fan with manual over ride if needed. I do have a pindicator lamp on the dash that is fed by the load side of the fan relay so I know if the fan is running. On my trip to Labrador with the Carryall/4BTA, the fan never came on. Granted, I do live up north where it does not get as hot. I am running the same fan setup on my M37.

Paul

·
Registered
329 Posts
I run a taurus fan on a manual switch........ only need it when sitting in traffic for hours

·
Administrator
4,164 Posts