Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read in a couple of places that there were two "qualities" of the 7.3l built - one used in pickup trucks, vans and SUV's and another built for heavier purposes. The first is supposedly good for +-200K miles, the second for about half a million. I can't find the original page. When I search on this, I find no such information. Do you know anything about it?

·
Registered
11,353 Posts
I've been driving one since 1989. Had a 6.9 before that. Don't know of any heavier parts on the 7.3 as far as block, crank, etc goes but it could be. The turbo models did have some different parts such as pistons and rings. If properly cared for the pickup truck engines would go a half million. My current one has 322,000 on it. One mistake some made was trying to put a turbo on the non turbo engine without changing the pistons and rings. That was pretty much a guarantee for failure.

·
Registered
57 Posts
As I recall the 94 turbo block was strenghtened, as well has heavier rods and I believe wrist pins. Probably other things as well. Don't know about the ones in heavier trucks. I do recall they used a different pump on some or maybe all. It's was a inline pump such as a p pump or bosch ape as found on Mack's. I wouldn't overboost regardless of block.

·
Registered
4 Posts