Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Putting a new '88 4BT in an M715 Jeep. Want to use it as a daily driver if I choose, will wheel some, will tow some. And like everyone would like to spend the least amount of cash and have the least amount of fab work needed. But I'm willing to do what is needed to do it RIGHT.

I used the search function but was not really successful (probably user error :confused: )

For those who don't know, the M715 weighs in at almost 6,000,
Has 586 gears (would like to go to 456 later)
Has an NP205 TC
Has stock 9.00x16 NDT's (about 36" tall)

Thanks,
Jeff

·
Registered
267 Posts
I really like the 4l80e. The only problem is that the stand alone computer its costly ( i am a college student with no one so in other words every thing is costly).

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
The 47RH is the simplest to get working right, very simple wiring. The 47RH has more aftermarket support for a diesel, but the 4L80E is a better transmission in stock form. The dodge adapters are dirt cheap and they aren't tilted.

·
Registered
915 Posts
I like my 4L80 manual shift if you dont mind rowing a shifter. I would rather that than an aftermarket controller that half way works. Added bonus is that it is cheaper to build.

·
Registered
169 Posts
I used the A518 trans that was bolted to the 5.9 cummins so I figured that it would handle the 3.9 with no problem.
thats the same one I'm using for my 4BT swap:D

·
Registered
27 Posts
someone was saying that the 47RH are pretty long. I was wondering if I have enough room on a 107" wheelbase to have you comfortably?(FJ60)

I know you can shorten the drive shaft, just was wondering if there was going to be enough room for stress free movement. I plan on doing a SOA also so I dont want to have any high angles if I can avoid it.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
If you want the cheapest get the 47RH. If you want the best get an Allison.

·
Registered
27 Posts