Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1951 Chevy 3100 Pickup
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Folks, I'm a newbie to the site so thanks for letting me join. I've got a 1951 Chevy 3100 half ton pickup that's been in my family since it was new. It was last driven when I was in high school 40 years ago and has a seized up original 216 spash oiler. My goal is to get advice and guidance from you good folks on the very best combination to achieve maximum MPG on an interstate cruiser. I'm open to engine types, transmission types, adapter plates, rear end swaps and rear end ratios, tire size recommendations, etc. I'm not planning on pulling anything with this truck, just want to get a fantastic mpg cruiser on the interstate as I drive an hour 2 hours per day to work and it's all interstate. I've had some old Mercedes diesels in the past and love the way they run but just am not sure if this is the right choice for what I'm after. I'm not a fabricator and have never rebuilt an engine or transmission so ideally whatever I do won't require a lot of cutting or modification but realize that there's got to be some to pull off such a swap. If this topic has already been covered on the site, please excuse my ignorance and if you will, point me in the right direction. I'd just like to start with the end in mind of getting a 30+ mpg interstate cruiser. Thanks for your help in laying out my "recipe". This should be fun!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,764 Posts