Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

My fiancee and I just bought a 27' 1984 Ford Fleetwood Jamboree Class C RV (E350 chassis) and plan to use it for a summer long road trip once we get married in May. We're so excited! This has been a dream for a long time.

I am stoked with everything about the RV...except the gas mileage. It has a Ford 460 in it, so we're learning that we'll be getting about 7 MPG tops.

With the amount of miles we plan to put on the Jamboree, I'm considering a diesel swap. Ideally, it looks like a Cummins 6bt is the way to go.

I saw @Joz 's thread about swapping a 6bt in a 1990 Winnebago 27' RV. It was so cool to see he accomplished it, and I felt inspired with my similarly built RV.

Frankly, my fiancee and I have very little automotive knowledge. We bought the RV at a great price and went forward with a "learn as we go" mentality. For me to do this swap on my own is next to impossible.

My question in short is, what would you recommend to someone like myself if I want to go ahead with the swap? I don't know exactly who to talk to, what to do, or where to look for parts. Any help would be incredibly appreciated. Anyone in my area (Kansas City, MO) or even within 300 miles that can help me do a swap?

I called a few different shops in Kansas City. No one I talked to was able to do a swap, but they offered some good advice. A few guys estimated that the swap would cost about 20k. I've seen some threads/videos of people doing swaps for less than 10k. Any insight on an accurate price would also be great. Sourcing my own donor truck/parts seems like the best way to keep costs low, but correct me if I'm wrong. As I mentioned, we won't be using it much until this summer, so we have a lot of time to line things up.

Thank you so much in advance for any help or advice you can offer to a couple whose dreams are too big for their own good. :) Excited to hear from you!