Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a newbie to this group. I have a 1941 Chevy Suburban that I am doing a frame off restoration on. It currently has the original 216 straight (gas) six, three speed, torque tube and stock rear. I was offered an additional 1941 1/2 ton frame with a 235 six, four speed, highway geared rear.
The problem is that once the resto is complete I want to be able to tow my Travel trailer during the spring and summer, it weighs 2900 lbs loaded. I am looking for for a motor that can pull at highway speeds up hills and still get decent fuel economy for everyday driving.
A friend at work suggested that I look into dropping in a diesel, and so I posted on the Stovebolt forum asking about it and was immediatly directed here.
I know absolutley nothing about diesels other than they are torque monsters!! I have have 15+ years expierience building cars but have never touched a diesel...but am interested.
Any suggestions?? Trannys? Rears? Installation??
Thanks in advance!!
Johnny

·
Registered
500 Posts
A frame-swap for sure on that older vehicle if you're going with a 4BT b/c of the weight. A custom tube frame for strength & light-weight or swap something from a later model if the dimensions will work (1/2 ton truck, etc).

Transmissions? Possibilites are endless. If you're doing regular towing I'd recommend against a light duty automatic (700R4). A 4L80E, dodge auto from the 6cyl cummins, Allison, etc. would be better.

·
Registered
126 Posts