Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently I bought a 1991 Bluebird Schoolbus with a 5.9 cummins. We drove it home from Oklahoma City and it would not get above 55 mph and was a dog when it came to any hills. It is strong at low speed in the city and what not. From what I have searched and heard there is something I need to adjust within the injection pump to remove the govenor? What injection pump does this engine have? I need some help on what to do to remove the govenor or simply raise it higher. Also, I have noticed the turbo does not have a wastegate, what is that about? I am sorry, I am totally new to diesel engines.

Is there any tutorials that show what can be done to waken this engine up a little. Im not looking for a hot rod, just a little more than what it has already.

Please don't flame on me, I have tried searching through threads and what not but my inexperience leaves me still asking questions. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
72 Posts
School bus.....
Planing to convert to a party bus/ tailgate machine?
The first mod you are looking for is the GOV spring.
If you post up a pic of the injection pump, someone on here will chime in with what it is. Also, if you can get to the enginge data plate, and list what CPL it is, that is usefull information as well.
Most likely you have a Bosch VE pump, or an inline pump (7100)
If the injector lines are in a row on the top, it is the 7100 "inline" pump
If the injector lines comr off the back of the pump, most likely it is a ve "Rotary" pump.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The plans are a party/roadtrip bus for the summer. Something we can haul are bikes in the back and camp out in.

I appreciate the help. Where is the engine data plate going to be located so I can get the numbers next time I go to my shop. I will also check what the pump looks like next time I'm up there too.

·
Registered
72 Posts