Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,089 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Where are you guy's drilling and taping for the probe on the 4bta or 4Bt?The manifold isn't open meaning not all 4 cylinder all into one at the turbo.Looks like cylinder 1,2 and 3,4 are together,or is the manifold open in the center?

On the 6bta they all meet into one and you just dill left of center and you have all 6cyl temps.

The first pic is a 4bt CPL 858 low mount .
The second pic is a 4Bta CPL 2264 high mount, water after cooled.

Both manifold's look the same

Anybody.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
8,764 Posts
Why not just pick one cylinder?
The middle ones will probably run a fraction hotter than the outer two.

·
Registered
57 Posts
This is my first time installing a pyrometer and I have no one looking over my shoulder telling me what to do or how I am screwing up. So don't take what I say as gospel.
I chose the rear most port because it was easier to work with and I assumed that bottoming out the probe in the port would be a bad thing. I am under the assumption that bottoming out the probe will give erroneous readings. In reading what Piers Diesel Research wrote up, I placed the probe close to the flange. I did not measure it, I just eyeballed it.

·
Banned
427 Posts
Install It Just Before The Turbo ( Hot Side ) On The 2 Rear Cylinders Passage Way. Dont Let The Fitting Stick Into The Manifold No Deeper Than You Have To. Or You Could Install It In The Exhaust Pipe Right After The Turbo ( Cold Side ) But The Temp Reading Will Be 100 Deg,s. Colder .

·
Premium Member
1,660 Posts
I installed it there too, almost exactly, worked great...

·
Premium Member
1,660 Posts
Also could someone say why its better near the trubo flange versus say in the manifold somewhere? My 6BT manifold is EGT and I though I might install it where the port is for a cleaner install..

·
Registered
197 Posts
digital pyrometer