Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'd love some help. A few months ago I was run off the road and flipped my jeep on to driver side. Ever since I have not been able to get it to start. I'm definitely not a mechanic but enjoy working on what I can. I'm learning slowy I have a 1.9 VW TDI a 7.3 IDI and my Jeep is a 4BT. I have no experience on this at all. Any help would be great. Battery is out right now got it tested its fine. Up until flipping it it would fire up everytime 1st try and ran great.

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
Any chance that your Jeep has a rollover device in the fuel supply line? That would shut off the fuel supply to your engine.

Reactions: eggman918

·
Registered
2,214 Posts
Having been upside down in a couple of vehicles in the past if it was inverted for any length of time oil from the crankcase can seep past the rings and hydraulic lock things, it would take very little with the compression ratio on the 4BT.

·
Registered
548 Posts
Give us a better description. Is the engine turning over? Is there any smoke out the tailpipe when it's turning? A video might help. It could be something as simple as the fuel cutoff solenoid is disconnected.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It turns over Not sure about smoke I'll have to check that next weekend. I'm going out of town for the week. It fired one time ran for a couple seconds very rough then died again. I dont think any smoke was coming out of tail pipe.

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
Sounds like no fuel, used the available fuel in the system and quit. Start by verifying that fuel is being pumped into your fuel filter. Work from there.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It only rolled on to its side not completely upside down. And it was running long once I was on my side. Not sure if that helps