Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have access to a 4bt that might or might not be working. It is just sitting in a garage, current owner has no details on engine. My questions are as follows:

1. Worst case, the engine is not working, how much is a 4bt block worth?
How much would you pay for a non working rebuildable 4bt?
2. If it does need a rebuild, what is the average price of a rebuild?
Is it possible for an engine to not be able to get rebuilt?
3. When I go to look at it, what are some things I can do to "test" if the engine is good?
4. What are some obvious ways to know that an engine can not be rebuilt?

Thank you in advance for your help.
I am a newbie trying to get a 4bt drop into a 79 bronco that has been in my family since I was 5 years old and Im almost 30 now.
Thanks

·
Registered
585 Posts
My answers are:

1. Very little to me. I wouldn't buy a non working, rebuildable 4bt --- I would wait until I found a running engine.
2. N/A to me.
3. Compression check?
4. Don't know.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
2,864 Posts
1)Take a good "hot" battery with you (2 if you can)
2)Take some cables and wire to run a ground to the block and hit the starter with some juice
3)take some diesel (couple of gallons is plenty) and a couple of pieces of hose and clamps 3/8" should get you by. enuff to go from your jug to the engine and back (return fuel)
4) tool kit to crack the injector lines to bleed air. Rags so you don't make a huge mess in the person's garage.
5)check the oil. does it have any in it? Its it watery? Strong diesel odor (could indicate worn rings) or could just be old oil.
6)Ether
7)Make sure he has a fire extinguisher
8)make sure you have a board or something solid to lay across the intake to shut it down incase of a runaway.