Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10,675 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 90 F250 started having a problem with the glow plugs. I've driven Ford IDI's since 1986 so I'm pretty familiar with all their little problems. But this one has got me stumped. Several weeks ago the wait to start light would only stay on about 2 seconds and then go off and you'd hear the relay clicking real fast. Since the truck is near 25 years old and had it's original glow plug controller, I assumed it had finally bit the dust. I replaced it and the same problem continued. I studied the wiring diagram and the only other thing I could find was the temp sensor attached to the controller, so I replaced that too. Still no change. About all that leaves is the plugs themselves so I had the Ford dealer check them when the truck was in for service. 3 of the 8 tested bad. I've had several bad plug before, but the controller timer would still cycle normally. What have I missed? I'm pretty good at sorting out electrical issues but this one doesn't make sense unless the new controller is bad too.

·
Registered
3,391 Posts
Perchance that old nemesis, a bad ground?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Check the connectors for damage. This will cause a short cycle time. If they are good, you have a bad plug or two.

·
Registered
10,675 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I talked to my local Navistar dealer and they seem to think the bad plugs are the issue. Going to put in a new set and hope that cures it. I have the block heater on a timer so it's easy to crank without them but it sure adds to the electricity bill at the end of the month.

·
Registered
10,675 Posts
Discussion Starter #6