Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the sight and im getting ready to convert my 85 gmc half ton to a 4bt cummins. I am a machinest bytrade and was looking at making a bell housing adapter that will keep the engine and tranny in the upright position. My question to you guys is can anyone tell me why the gm bellhousing adapters are tilted at a 10 deg angle. Thanks for any help on this matter.

·
Registered
120 Posts
From what I have heard is that the adapter was tilted 10 deg to give more clearance in the bread vans. I'm guessing that at the time they were repowering enough vans to justify making a special adapter to tilt. Lots of people have been running them tilted if it doesn't interfere with anything. Personally I'm using a Dodge adapter, bellhousing and a GM nv4500 trans to keep it straight.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
From what I have heard is that the adapter was tilted 10 deg to give more clearance in the bread vans. I'm guessing that at the time they were repowering enough vans to justify making a special adapter to tilt. Lots of people have been running them tilted if it doesn't interfere with anything. Personally I'm using a Dodge adapter, bellhousing and a GM nv4500 trans to keep it straight.
Thanks for the info..I plotted out the stock adapter yesterday. I have it in a Cad system so after i got it all done i indexed it 10 deg to bring it back to level and i am a little concerned about the starter clearance now. Will that dodge adapter you used will it work with a GM m465?

·
Registered
120 Posts
Thanks for the info..I plotted out the stock adapter yesterday. I have it in a Cad system so after i got it all done i indexed it 10 deg to bring it back to level and i am a little concerned about the starter clearance now. Will that dodge adapter you used will it work with a GM m465?