Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so I know that the 4bt and scout IIs go great together and will bump up the mileage as well as the drivability. I have purchased a bread van that has a 4bt in it and plan to swap it into my frame off restoration scout. The bread van has the t19 transmission in it currently but as I'm sure you all know they are not 4x4 and what is a scout without 4x4? My question is what transmission/bellhousing/transfercase set-up is my best and most cost efficient choice? This is my first time with a motor swap and don't really know what I' looking for other than drivability. help sheading light on this topic for me would be greatly appreciated! I will be needing to figure out this issue in the upcoming few months. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,864 Posts
What does your Scout have in it right now? No doubt there are adapters to Ford or GM smallblock V8s. And 4BTs can be found with adapters that have the same architecture of either engine. You need to know what you have before we can offer advice on what your options are.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have the IH 727 tranny that was behind the factory motor along with(I believe) the Dana 300 tcase. But I bery well could be wrong but I believe I have read that the ih 727 is different than the 727s that they put in dodge trucks... But that is what I have in my possession! Can always sell/trade my way to different parts though!

·
Vendor
504 Posts
With a dana 300 on one end, and a 4bt on the other, you have LOTS of options. The question you need to ask is what are you going to use the Scout for, that will point to the best tranny option. Then weigh that against your budget...

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·