Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 2003 Dodge Ram 3500 a couple of years ago. I am not a mechanic and so did not check the rear axle to see if it was damaged or broken. About a year after I bought it, I heard this terrible grinding noise coming from the rear end and so I stopped driving it immediately. I had a mechanic friend of mine come over and look at it. Much to my dismay, my friend told me that the rear axle was broken and someone had put orange epoxy on it so it would not leak. To make a long story short, the three spot welds that hold the tube to the differential had been broken. The tube had slid out enough for the axle shaft to enter the positrack differential at an angle causing the positrack and the axle shaft to eat each other up. The truck has now sat for over a year because I cannot afford to buy a new axle. I am a 100% disabled combat veteran and I am living on a VERY fixed income. When I can find an axle, the stupid thing is like $1700 and that is $1600 more than I have.