Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all! I've been perusing the net and even this site for quite a while now and have yet to really get a definitive answer on my question so... I figure I'll just come out and ask it! I'm quite new to the idea of diesel but I'm learning as I go and trying to ask all the questions I can.

I've been hearing that the 4BT has been used not only as and auto/industrial engine but as a marine based engine as well. Across the net there are people that say using a marine engine in an automobile application is possible, even a desirable way to obtain one for use on the cheap. But they offer up no info on how the conversion may go. Then there is the other school that mention the need of tags/ID and HP ratings and the general fact that it can't be done.

So what is the actual verdict here? My reason for asking in that living up here on the North Coast of Ohio I have several marinas that service them and I can pick one at a very reasonable price. Should I or should I not persue this angle?? It's be going into a 73 CJ5 as a daily driver, not something that would get beat to hell.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!!

Scuffy

·
Registered
454 Posts
hi there. the main differences i can see with marine stuff is 1. they have endless cold water to cool everything, so you would want to back off the injector pump. 2. they may have a funky setup on the back of them, flywheel and housing wise. still if you can get good runners cheap i would grab all of them that you can.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Can these parts be replaced at a reasonable price or adapted to run like the standard 4BT? Can a cooling system, radiator etc, be retrofitted?

Oh and thank you for your help!!!

·
Registered
454 Posts