Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, i finally started up the truck yesterday. After checking for leaks, i wanted to mover her around in the driveway. Once i got it in the road though, I had to take it for a spin. The truck is still naked and i dont have tags, insurance so i only took it down the block. I was expecting to not even shift out of first because i have not gotten the controller for the 4L80E yet. in the half mile i went, i was able to get through third and up to 40mph. I didnt have enough room to get it fast enought to see if the TC would lockup but i was suprised to say the least. I do have a good tach signal that is registering in the cab but no TPS. The trans shifts really clean and with my foot in it, it shifted at 2200 rpm. Is this suppose to happen? What is the purpose of the controller? Would it hurt the transmission to keep running it like this. I am not a transmission expert so any help is appreciated.
thanks

·
Registered
88 Posts
Do you still have it (the transmission) connected to the factory engine ECU? The engine ECU may just be confused and telling the tranny to shift..... In which case, you may be able to save a pile of money... This is very interesting.. Because I've had several tranny shops tell me the 4L80e can only shift into 2nd gear hydrauliclly.... Everything else takes and electronic signal.....

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #5