Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello im new here. I have a 1993 dodge dakota ext cab 4x4 with 3 inch suspension lift. Has 3.55 gears. The trans just took a crap on me and we have a local diesel shop that ill be working with to put a 4bt/47rh into the truck. Im wanting to build it but I wanna do it from a different stand point. It will be my daily driver so I wanna build the motor for mpg and reliabilty and just gain power as a side effect. I basically just want the motor to run as effiecently and healthy as possible. How would you guys build it? Please give a little more detail than u normally would as Im just getting started learning about diesels. Thanks so much.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Check out the FAQs and stickies. Lots of info on here. Takes alot of homework. Your performance mods will depend on which 4bt and turbo you have. Which injection pump you have. Stuff like that. You want to stick with a smaller turbo for reliability and efficiency. You should run your gear ratios, and your tranny ratios on an online gear ratio calculator to see if you will be happy with your rpms vs mph.

·
Registered
2,862 Posts
Im wanting to build it but I wanna do it from a different stand point. .

REALLY??! breaking new ground there huh? 99% of the swaps here are done for that reason. Pick a Dakota swap and copy it! The 47RH is a mechanical tranny so easy-peasy. Getting the 4BT to fit around a 4x4 Dakota's suspension is the trick. Its been done numerous times, so you have plenty of pictures and written detailed how-to's to guide you.
The important details are how will you use the Dakota? Daily driver means nothing if you are an avid bass fisher who will be towing a 20' bass boat every other weekend! or a 25' travel trailer during the summer. You have to build EVERYTHING to work together, and then drive it appropriately to how you built it!.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4