Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anybody done an injector upgrade?? What were your results on performance, smoke and EGT's? What injectors did you use? I am looking into upgrading mine to the Lucas "Prince of Darkness" but I am wondering if anyone has done this upgrade or what is the best option for our engines?:confused:

·
Registered
168 Posts
injector upgrades

I have some experience with injectors and upgrading, one thing you need to remember is that you also need to increase air, just putting more fuel into the cylinder doesn't always result in positive perfiormance. but can and will result in black smoke

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have some experience with injectors and upgrading, one thing you need to remember is that you also need to increase air, just putting more fuel into the cylinder doesn't always result in positive perfiormance. but can and will result in black smoke
I understand that. Thanks for posing. I have already upgraded my turbo and intake lines. My turbo now has a 14 cm3 turbine housing and a 54 mm compressor. I have upgraded my intake piping from the turbo to the aftercooler to 2".

Thanks for your input

·
Registered
168 Posts
injectors

Most of what I've experienced is with Twin Turbos, allot of boost and some high fuel values, probably won't be any help. Sorry.Mallo986

·
Registered
228 Posts
Ok, I ran my stock injectors for a while before I swaped in the PODs. I first ran the PODs with everything else on my 4b stock. I noticed high EGTs and lots of smoke, it just needed a little tuning. Timing helps a lot, PODs like timing. Also with your turbo and intercooler you should be fine. I now have a HY35 and a fairly large intercooler on mine and it is awsome! My EGTs are great, boost is at 35 psi, has plenty of power at all speeds, and gets a 5-6 mpg increase over stock. So in my opinion it was money very well spent.