Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So finally I get around to looking at mounting the turbo and exhaust this past weekend and after pulling the compressor housing off I find this...

There seems to be oil all over the place inside there which would suggest the seal is blown. There's not a huge amount of play in the shaft but It will walk back and forth a bit. I'm guessing the compressor wheel is trashed but is the housing bad too?

I'm new to turbos so I don't know how bad this really is. Obviously anything making contact like this isn't good but can I salvage this turbo?

Andy

·
Registered
3,391 Posts
What CC59 said. You might contact HTT [High Tech Turbo] as they have several upgrades available. I chose the HTT Stage II which gets you a larger compressor housing and larger compressor impeller with a better A/F ratio, to produce better power and lower EGT's [Exhaust Gas Temps]. Runs about $285and equals HY35 w/o waste gate. Well, whichever is the lesser of the two, HY35 or HX35, that's what it equals. Never can remember which is which....

The turbo bearing is in a casette and can be ordered separately, bout $75-$100 last time I checked. Also check the various Dodge Cummins forums because lots of guys toss the H1C in favor of a larger upgrade so the leftovers go for cheap, like $100-$150? Even HX35 or HY35 aren't that spendy used, but have them check and guarantee the end play before buying!!! Also good to check forum archives to see if it's a guy that's a regular and trustworthy.

·
Premium Member
1,660 Posts
what kind of turbo is it, the stock one?

·
Super Moderator
8,864 Posts
The housing might clean up.
But your core needs rebuilt or replaced. The compressor wheel, bearings and seals need replaced.

Exhaust wheel may be reusable.

·
Registered
157 Posts
Toast