Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie Here

So I was looking for a Jake and see they are few and far between
So Questions I have are:
Has anyone tried using the 71/92a?
Is the bridge still available? 71/92a use a different type
Last have not found the switch the screws into the governor maybe I'm not looking in the right place or what it is called

Thanks
Bill

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
A Jacobs Engine brake from a 71 series or 92 series engine will not fit onto a 53 series engine.
The proper Jake Brake for a 53 series engine is a Model 53A

To install a Jacobs engine brake you need:
- a Jacobs Buffer Switch (screws into the governor body where the buffer screw threads in)
- a valve cover riser, or a cast aluminum Jacobs extended valve cover
- Master and Slave Jake Brakes (One master can drive one, two or three slave cylinders - on a 4-53 you can have one master and three slaves (single stage engine brake), or two masters and two slaves (dual stage engine brake - low and high))
- flexible or rigid oil lines
- right side rocker arms with the Jacobs bridge (one rocker arm with bridge per cylinder)
- longer rocker arm retention bolts (two are necessary per cylinder)
- clutch/neutral safety switch
- a switch to activate the Jacobs Engine Brake

An entire setup for a 4-53 can run you anywhere between $500 and $3000 depending on how lucky you are finding a set.
You can still buy the 53 series engine brake from Jacobs, but it is roughly $1000 a cylinder for the kit.

Take a read through of the Jacobs 53A PDF:
http://www.jacobsvehiclesystems.com/files/support/docs-pdfs/018411A.pdf

The 71 and 92 series Jacobs Engine Brakes were much more popular, as they were used in the automotive field extensively, whereas 53 series engines were not. You can find 71/92 series Jacobs Engine Brake kits for 8V71/8V92's on ebay any day of the week for < $500 for the complete setup.

Chris

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply