Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm aaron, just a crazy countrry guy from indiana and I'm new to this forum. I'm planning a build for the next year or two.

I know this is a long post and I'm sorry it's so long. It will be spring before I get my hands on a 6v53t but I have a line on a silver series for about 1500$

My ideas are a deuce chassis with a late 70's ford f250 or f350 with a 250 vin four door body. Built to long haul toys. I plan on building a 40+ foot dry van to pull my toys in.

Engine wise I'm set on the detroit 6v53t.

I have alot of questions about these motors. im a machinist by trade. So naturally I can't leave the inside of it alone. My power goal is around 650 to 750hp.

Head work,
so im wondering about the 4 valve heads. Do you guys know if there would be room to machine glow plugs into them?
Also, on the 4 valve heads do any of you know if there is enough room to machine the heads out to fit either bigger 6v71 or 6v92 valves into the heads?

Liners and ports,
does anyone know of anybody that has played with the intake ports in the liners, like widening them out, or try changing the port timing a little by opening them up or down vertically?

Rotating assembly and block,
Does anyone know how much weight we could remove from the counter weights before the crank becomes vulnerable/weak or other wise useless when it comes to torque? Are the rods and pistons over built, could we shed some decent weight with them with ruining the reliability? The block, does anyone know if the iron block has any sweet spots that could we could give a work out and loose a few lbs in?

So the blower,
I've seen people talk about a bypass blower, but my real question is.
Has anyone ever tried to adapt a 6v71 or 6v92 blower to the 6v53t instead of trying to over clock the stock blowers?

Another question I've always wondered about.