• 4bt and 6bt later

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a student in High school planning on buying a K20 this year, but I'd also like to swap a Cummins in it. I don't have a lot of fabrication experience but I do have the people and resources to help me out. This will be my first truck and first swap. Since my budget is tight I thought of doing the 4BT first and then doing the 6bt down the road because it could easier, cheaper, etc. Or should I just do the 6bt? I really think doing the 4bt would be really helpful to get the experience and make the 6bt an easier swap. I don't plan on towing anything for a few years, but I will be hauling a lot of steel and stuff in the bed. Is there any suggestions or advice anyone can give me?

·
Registered
2,174 Posts
A 6 will be less expensive than a 4 will be,so if you have the room and can deal with the extra weight..........a D-60 front minimum a 4BT is as heavy or heavier than any big block and the 6BT is ~1,200#.Your best bet would be to find a dodge truck with the 6 and drive train you want and start there you will be able to get almost everything needed in one place,the days of finding a running bread van with a 4bt for $3Kor $4K are over the prices that are being asked for a 4bt that "was a good running engine when pulled"and is on a pallet are steep to me I would me leery to pay whats being asked for most I see for sale..........just my two cents on that.