Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
long story short, Last year we inherited my wife's Grandpas Deutz 4006, which had been sitting idle in a barn for 20+ years.
I'm fairly mechanical, and understand diesel prinicples, but have some questions about the Bosch injector system and how to prime it correctly.

First things first, the engine turns free, It has a new fuel filter, new fuel, the lift pump works with the primer, and I put new 15w40 in the injector pump.
We started cranking, with the all lines cracked at the pump. It appears 1 and 2 were building pressure and starting to spit, but 3 did not.
Someone seems to remember "disabling" the tractor, but not sure what.

I want to get this thing running soon, and I am wondering if the pump is screwed. Any and ALL help is appreciated.

I am new to diesels and am not sure about the injector assembly

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
So. I figured out the injector problem, it appears someone tightened them all down, and not one could pump. I know have fuel to the top of each cylinder, and into what looks like an atomizer?
My return fuel line to the tank is soaking wet, which tells me no fuel is going into the cylinder. I can run it on ether but cannot get it to run on diesel. The fuel is combustible. Is it possible the injectors are plugged from sitting? could they be plugged? Is it going to take a special tool to remove them?

·
Registered
1,384 Posts