Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just finished driving a Dovebid Frito Lay van back 200 miles to my home...that was more work than I anticipated!!!:puke: The van would only run about 50mph. This was real hard to deal with since I am used to my 2000CTD with the 24v 6BT. The good side is the engine seems solid and no problems. I am not a diesel mechanic so I have a lot to learn. This 4BT is to be the doner for my '72 Jeep Commando so I have a couple of questions. First off, I would like to keep the T400 automatic since my Commando came with the T400. The Jeep had the adapter for the AMC motor that came in it and the tranny bolt pattern is different, but shouldn't a good tranny shop be able to mix/swap the two transmissions and make everything work? Second, is there any reason to try and correct the tilt that these engines had when they are sitting in the chassis? Is there any affect on the amount of vibration if the motor is 100% vertical? Reason I ask is this thing vibrated like:pissed: when at idle. I expect this motor to vibrate and be loud, that is part of the reason I chose it for the Commando, but If there is anything that will lesson it, why not? Anyway, this is probably my first of many posts.:smile:

·
Registered
137 Posts
If you are swapping the 4bt/TH400 into the Commando, do this:

Have your tranny shop of choice swap the output shaft from the Commando into the 4bt's TH400. Voila! Now you have a 4wd TH400 that fits the 4bt. SHouldn't be a big deal, since you're having that TH400 rebuilt anyway, with proper valve body and clutch mods, RIGHT? and you're going to run a nice big cooler on it RIGHT????

Thought so. :biggrin:

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4