Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What in the hell is involved with cranking a 4bt up to those levels of power?

I'm thinking for my build:

40psi fuel pump
injection pump tweaking
POD/370 Injectors
HX52 turbo (16cm turbine/ 71mm compressor), possible duals
ARP stud kit
Balancing if needed?
Intercooler
4K/5K Spring
There has got to be a few other things I'm not thinking of...

I hear all of this talk about 450-500hp 4bt's but nobody who clarifies on making it to those power levels. This is NOT a DD.

·
Registered
41 Posts
I'm new to 4bt's and have not heard anything on power like that from a 4bt! This should be a good thread. bounce

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm new to 4bt's and have not heard anything on power like that from a 4bt! This should be a good thread. bounce
Well a 4bt is literally 2/3's the motor of a 6bt, if there cranking out 800hp/1200lbft numbers there's no reason why we can't shell out 500hp/800lbft. Definitely not by Daily Driver Standards though.

·
Administrator
1,447 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Main cap studs and a Girdle
Rod bolts replaced with ARPs
Head Oringd and studs installed.

Exhaust porting. cutting the intake off and porting out the intakes will help too but isnt necessay.

Camshaft with higher lift and duration values, matching valve springs you'll need to discuss with your grinder to get a good pattern for your application

370 injectors may or may not get you there. if you run 370's you'll be better off with the marine Ceramic coated pistons with teflon coated skirts. or the better oprion is get some EDM injectors and use domestic pistons and get them ceramic coated and teflon on the skirts. you have to remember the piston bowls need to match the injector spray pattern at those HP levels to really be efficient. marine injectors are ok but dont burn as well when matched to a domestic piston