Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wheel Sky Tire Car Vehicle

Hello everyone! This is my second generation Pajero, (they call it Montero here). Originally came with a 4G54 Mitsubishi Astron gasoline motor (2600 CC).

Sadly, gas is getting really expensive where we live and it’s not the most economical. Plus the motor has nearly 400k kilometers on it! Diesel is still really cheap here! Thinking of retrofitting an Isuzu 4JB1-T diesel motor (2800 CC).

My biggest doubt…. Will it still have enough power? Comparing the specs, it looks like it should, though I'm not an expert.

Any other recommendation / things to keep in mind?

Thanks in advance for your opinions!

·
Super Moderator
9,128 Posts
They came with either the 4D56 or the 4M40 depending on generation. Those engines obviously fit perfectly. Indirect injection isn't my preference but the fitment is going to overrule almost everything else.
I haven't heard of anyone fitting an Isuzu 4J series to one.

Hyundai and I think Mazda took the mitsi 4D56 engines and developed them further. So they might be a source for you too. I don't know what you'll have available.

·
Registered
844 Posts
I had a 4m40 diesel in the same pajero/montero. 4m40 is 123 hp and 217 tqs. Mine was automatic trans. I lifted it 2 inches and put 33s on it. Wasn't a bad truck but it was quite under powered for the mountainous terrain I live in. I live on the coast and the near by mountains go from seal lvl up to 5-6 thousand feet. Loaded with camping gear it wasn't the fastest thing out there, 70 km/hr. That's after I put a one size up turbo and turned the fuel up.
Where it was awesome was off road. Plenty of torque and crawled around the bush amazing, sipped the fuel.
But on the hwy it was working too hard and was 23-25 imperial mpgs.