Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this and basically need all the parts required to mate the 4bt to the nv4500
I have the 4bt (off of Frito lay truck, stock 4bt with 105 HP) and will pick up the transmission this weekend from a local salvage yard.
A list of all parts needed will be great.
I want to buy all the needed parts before I begin the teardown on my bronco.
Thanks

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I forgot to add the NV4500 is off of a dodge diesel truck. I am not sure what year truck. Does that matter or is one set of years preffered?

I have looked at the stickys, but some of them go off on a tangent and its difficult to find the needed info.
Again please help so I can find the parts and begin my build.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I looked into this for some time myself. As far as I can tell if you have a diesel NV4500 you should have the correct input shaft and the correct bellhousing for connecting with the Cummins. the one thing you are going to need is the adapter that goes between the Cummins and the bellhousing. Wrecking yards have this part. Also you need the 6BT Flywheel. SO to sum it up you use all of the Dodge truck parts.

·
Premium Member
1,759 Posts
You will need all the stuff from the block back,,,,adapter,flywheel,starter,clutch,bell housing,and master/slave from a 1994-2002 Dodge truck with a Cummins.:idea:

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks guys,
looks like im about to become very familiar with all the local junk yards.
Again thanks for the info

·
Registered
20 Posts
SO.... what do you need to put a NV4500 out of a ford onto a 4bt? Also do they make adapter kits for a NP-205 transfer case to bolt right onto both of them? Are there differences in the adapters? What different np-205's are there and what are the easiest to bolt together (non divorced is what im lookin for) for a 4bt/nv4500/np205 combination?