Cummins 4BT & Diesel Conversions Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has any one ported and polished the head? How much difference did you notice? Is it worth it?

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi, I'm new to diesels, but I often wonder this also since lurking here and other diesel forums.

I have built several NA gas motor putting out well over 1.5 hp per CI at the wheels.
The secret has always been in the heads.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So in other words its just know worth it so spent the money to get it done. But wouldn't create better air flow?

·
Super Moderator
8,975 Posts
So in other words its just know worth it so spent the money to get it done. But wouldn't create better air flow?
It might create better airflow. But nothing like a turbo can.:grinpimp:

But really, because the rpm and air speeds on a diesel are much lower, they won't get the improvements you can make in a high revving petrol engine.
Diesels also have big ports already because they don't need the extra turbulence that gas engines thrive on.

·
Banned
427 Posts
THINK DIESEL NOT GAS......... leave it stock and it will live forever, soup it up and it wont last long. been there done that.... heat & pressure kills quickly.....
jmo
bob

·
Registered
335 Posts
Just putting the head back on tonight, after gasket matching the exaust ports, and turbo flange. This is not a daily driver, and I wouldnt even mess with it if it was. You can see in the picture how much is inside the gasket on the left port. All I did was cut it almost to the gasket, and smoothe out the corners. You cant realy get to the intake side unless you cut it off like ZZ Fab does, and I didnt want to mess with going all the way in by the valves. Just was trying to clean things up, well see if was worth the 5 hours of eatin metal dust. :rasta:

Attachments

·
Registered
1,450 Posts